h1

Stand-Up Comedy Lives Online

June 25, 2008

I love stand-up comedy. My fascination with it came twelve years ago after hearing (not even watching) some early stand-up comedy audio tapes done by Woody Allen in the 1970s. He is awsome! He set the bar of my expectations really high. It is strange though how people in America do not associate him at all with his early career as a comedian. I rented the tapes from the BBC Center in Sofia by a reccomendation of a friend and ended up literally memorizing them. I have to make it clear that stand-up comedy is not a popular genre in Bulgaria except for a couple of recent attempts at launching stand-up shows on TV in 2005 and 2006. To my utmost disappointment, I have so far discovered only one YouTube video of these early Woody Allen stand-up comedy performances. Here it is – the one and only:

Thanks to the proliferation of videos and channels on YouTube I have discovered many exceptional comedians. One of them is Russel Peters, whose entire career and huge current popularity is built exclusively on word-of-mouth marketing. Thanks to the web and mostly YouTube I have come to adore his comedy for a year already and you bet I was among the first people to buy a ticket three months in advance for his live performance in D.C. last week-end. He is big on making fun of ethnic differences and draws a very versatile audience.

Other great comediansI have discovered via the web are the Middle Eastern bunch that made the Axis of Evil Comedy Tour. They are very efficient in breaking stereotypes about the Middle East through comedy and similarly to Russel Peters they appeal to a vast multi-ethnic public.

I have found immense gratification in exploring amateur or user-produced comedy online, which is in many cases as good as professional comedy. Among the best picks I have come accross recently are Barats and Bereta. Their videos can be found in MySpace, YouTube and their official website.

And since this is my school blog, let me fullstop this post with my all-time comic YouTube video called “Effect of education on men and women”:

One comment

  1. Ah, I love to read about the experiences people have when discovering this art form! Great post!



Leave a Reply

